Coleoptera

Coleoptera

Coleoptera section

 

With about 500.000 described species, Coleoptera (beetles) worldwide form the largest insect order. It is unknown, however, how many additional species are to be yet described, but these are estimated between one and five millions.

 

 

Size of the Collections

Coleoptera Section

 

The numbers of specimens, species and types of the Coleoptera collection at present are not exactly known. The total number of specimens is roughly estimated about 3-4 millions (the numerous material preserved in ethanol excluded). The number of species is estimated about 100.000, the number of species represented by typical material is about 9.000, the number of type specimens about 30.000. Thus, the Coleoptera collection is the second largest in Germany.

 

 

 

 Coleoptera

The collection includes a large number of historical collections some of which are rich of types. Several important collections that have been donated to the ZSM still are in the hand of their former holders which makes more exact estimations of their number of species and specimens difficult.

Since some years a collection of beetle larvae is being built up, with Chrysomelidae and recently Carabidae being best represented.

Coleoptera

Coleoptera

Coleoptera Section

Die Coleoptera (Käfer) bilden mit annähernd 500.000 beschriebenen Arten die größte Insektenordnung. Wieviele Arten noch der wissenschaftlichen Beschreibung harren, ist unbekannt, Schätzungen bewegen sich zwischen 1 und 5 Millionen.

Umfang der Sammlung

Coleoptera Individuen-, Arten- und Typenbestand der Coleopterensammlung können zur Zeit noch nicht mit ausreichender Genauigkeit angegeben werden. Der Gesamtbestand wird – sehr grob! – auf 3-4 Millionen Individuen geschätzt (ohne das umfangreiche, in Alkohol aufbewahrte Material!). Die Artenzahl beträgt etwa 100 000, die Anzahl der in Typen vertretenen Taxa etwa 9.000, die Anzahl der Typenexemplare etwa 30.000. Damit ist die Coleopterensammlung die zweitgrößte in Deutschland.

Die Sammlung enthält eine große Anzahl historischer, zum Teil sehr typenreicher Sammlungen. Bedeutende, der ZSM bereits übereignete Sammlungsteile sind noch bei den jeweiligen Vorbesitzern untergebracht und können daher in ihrem Arten- und Individuenbestand nur sehr ungenau beziffert werden.

ColeopteraSeit einigen Jahren wird eine Larvensammlung aufgebaut, deren Schwerpunkt bisher vor allem bei den Chrysomelidae liegt, neuerdings auch bei den Carabidae.