Dr. Oliver Hawlitschek

Dr. Oliver Hawlitschek

Section Hymenoptera

  • Postdoc
  • Tel: +49 (0)89 8107-109
  • E-Mail: oliver.hawlitschek@gmx.de
  • Research:: Speciation process in Orthoptera and Hymenoptera

Research interests

Speciation and hybridization in Orthoptera and Hymenoptera:

The barcoding projects of Bavaria (BFB) and Germany (GBOL) found that most species could be reliably identified through DNA barcodes. However, some species groups especially of insects could not, despite clear morphological distinctiveness, be distinguished by barcodes. We study this in sawflies (Hymenoptera: Symphyta) and grasshoppers (Caelifera: Acrididae) of Germany using data generated by ddRAD sequencing, which represents the entire genome in a reduced form. HyRAD sequencing, which has lower requirements to DNA quality than ddRAD, allows us the inclusion of historical museum specimens in our studies.

Our goal is to detect whether gene flow between the different species of a group continues despite efficient isolation mechanisms (e.g., grasshopper songs) or the genetic similarity is due to the recent evolutionary origin of the species alone. We also investigate the influence of ecological factors (e.g., host plants of sawflies).

(DFG-SPP 1991 “TaxonOMICS”, project HA 7255/2-1 “A MuseOMICS approach to scrutinise DNA barcode failure: testing the causes for taxonomic incongruence patterns in phytophagous Hymenoptera and Orthoptera through hybridization capture using RAD probes”).

The Comoros:

The Comoros is a group of oceanic islands near Madagascar with a unique and highly endemic fauna. Unlike, e.g., the Galápagos and the Canaries, the Comoros are poorly studied by scientists. I study the phylogeny, biogeography, and taxonomy of reptiles of the Comoros and have implemented several conservation projects for these species.

Further research interests:

Dr. Oliver Hawlitschek

Dr. Oliver Hawlitschek

Sektion Hymenoptera

  • Postdoktorand
  • Tel: +49 (0)89 8107-109
  • E-Mail: oliver.hawlitschek@gmx.de
  • Forschung: Artbildungsprozesse bei Orthoptera und Hymenoptera

Forschungsgebiete

Artbildung und Hybridisierung bei Orthoptera und Hymenoptera:

Die Barcoding-Projekte Bayerns (BFB) und Deutschlands (GBOL) ergaben, dass die meisten Arten zuverlässig durch DNA-Barcodes bestimmt werden können. Insbesondere bei Insekten treten jedoch Artengruppen auf, die sich – obwohl z.B. durch morphologische Merkmale klar getrennt – nicht durch Barcodes unterscheiden lassen. Dies untersuchen wir spezifisch bei heimischen Pflanzenwespen (Hymenoptera: Symphyta) und Grashüpfern (Caelifera: Acrididae) mit Hilfe von durch ddRAD Sequenzierung gewonnenen Daten, die das gesamte Genom in reduzierter Form abbilden. Durch hyRAD, das auf geringere DNA-Qualität als ddRAD angewiesen ist, können auch historische Museumsexemplare in die Untersuchungen einbezogen werden.

Unser Ziel ist, festzustellen, ob auch trotz wirksamer Isolationsmechanismen (z.B. Gesänge von Heuschrecken) noch Genfluss zwischen den Arten besteht oder ob die genetische Ähnlichkeit nur dem evolutionär sehr jungen Ursprung der Arten geschuldet ist. Auch der Einfluss unterschiedlicher ökologischer Faktoren (z.B. Wirtspflanzen bei Pflanzenwespen) soll untersucht werden.

(DFG-SPP 1991 „TaxonOMICS“, Projekt HA 7255/2-1 „A MuseOMICS approach to scrutinise DNA barcode failure: testing the causes for taxonomic incongruence patterns in phytophagous Hymenoptera and Orthoptera through hybridization capture using RAD probes“).

Die Komoren:

Die Komoren sind eine Gruppe ozeanischer Inseln nahe Madagaskar mit einer einzigartigen und hochgradig endemischen Fauna. Anders als z.B. die Galápagos oder die Kanarischen Inseln sind die Komoren aber wissenschaftlich nur schlecht untersucht. Ich beschäftige mich mit der Stammesgeschichte, Biogeographie und Taxonomie der Reptilien der Komoren und habe mehrere Schutzprojekte für diese Arten geleitet.

Weitere Forschungsinteressen: