Sammlungen

Sammlungen

Section Ichthyology

Developement of the collection since 2000

Today’s ichthyological collection was restored after the Second World War due to the enormous efforts and work of SCHINDLER. It comprisesover 7700 species in approx. 480 families with more than 44.000 lots and additional 1000 yet uninventorised lots. The collection was revised and completely re-organised in the magazine rooms. The handwritten cataloguing was changed to modern computer based accessioning in 2001. The type collection was revised during the GBIF project in 2005, results published in type catalogues (pre-1944 / post 1945). Databasing of the entire fish collection was completed in 2012.

Development of the Collection

  • 1999:   9.125 lots,  63.246 specimens
  • 2009: 19.673 lots, 117.157 specimens
  • 2013: 22.443 lots, 131.089 specimens

View into the ichthyological collection at the public day

The Collection largely gained after the start of the project “Survey of the fish biodiversity of Bavarian rivers” in 2004. In co-operation with the Landesfischereiverband Bayern e.V. the project aims to build and up a comprehensive collection on Bavarian freshwater fishes and to document our regional fish fauna composition. In the course of the survey we are collecting specimens from local populations from all smaller streams and larger rivers contributing to the major drainages Rhine, Danube and Elbe, including the per-alpine lake basins. More then 2000 lots with 58 species out of 14 families have been collected so far, including more then 4000 individual DNA-tissue samples of preserved specimens.

The Collection considerably gained from recent and ongoing research projects in Ghana, Cameroon and from the Lower Congo Basin (Republic Congo and Democratic Republic of Congo).

In 2003 a marine collection from the continental shelf off Angola was purchased with a found of the Staatliche Naturwissenschaftliche Sammlungen Bayerns. The collection comprises about 9000 specimens out of 136 families (approx. 400 species, including yet undescribed species).

A historical collection of fish scales was revised and inventoried; it contains a total number of 710 scale-bags from 25 families and 34 species. This collection not only includes valuable historical vouchers of Bavarian fishes from Pre-Alpine lakes, but also material from rare species like the Twaite shad (Alosa fallax) or the endangered Perlfisch (Rutilus meidingerii) from lake Chiemsee ort the Zingel (Zingel zingel). The scales originate from private scale collections of WAGLER, LÖW and SCHINDLER.

Photograph of the Valdivia

In the course of the moving of the Department of Biology from LMU-University from the Munich city centre to Martinsried, major parts of the former collection of anatomical objects were transferred to ZSM for further storage. Among them, 225 (mainly) prepared specimens used for anatomical demonstrations (139 fish species from 83 families), but also valuable historical material was included: 9 lots from the collections HABERER & DOFLEIN, among them specimens from the Sagami-Bay (Sagami-Bay, 1904) and DOFLEINS Expedition to Monterey Bay in California; historical material from the first German Deep-Sea expedition (Valdivia-Expedition, 1889-1899) and voucher specimens of Bavarian fishes, including 12 lots from HOFER and SIEBOLD originating from the Isar in Munich.

Main focus of the collection

  • Elasmobranchii, sharks and rays of the Indian Ocean (Collection Pfeil)
  • Deep sea fishes of the Atlantic crest, collected by scientific explorations of German MSS “Walther Herwig II”
  • Fishes of the Red Sea
  • Ichthyofauna of Bavarian freshwaters
  • Ichthyofauna of South America, mainly cichlids and loricariids
  • Ichthyofauna of west and central Africa
  • Ichthyofauna of Sulawesi (Indonesia)

Additional informationen

IDES-Project mobilises and digitises ZSM fish collections

Bedeutende Teilsammlungen

The Brasilian fishes of Spix

Section Ichthyology

The Collection of Carl Theodor von Siebold (1804-1855)

Section Ichthyology

The Collection of Princess Therese von Bayern (1850-1925)

Section Ichthyology

The collections of Erich Zugmayer and Gottfried Merzbacher

Section Ichthyology

The deep sea fish sollections of Haberer & Doflein

Section Ichthyology

The Kähsbauer-Donationen from Vienna

Section Ichthyology

The Selachier collection

Section Ichthyology

The Wagner collection

Section Ichthyology

Typenkataloge

Type Catalogue of the Ichthyological Section

Section Ichthyology

Sammlungen

Sammlungen

Sektion Ichthyologie

Entwicklung der Sammlung seit dem Jahr 2000

Die heutige Sammlung wurde nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg vor allem durch das Engagement und die Arbeit von SCHINDLER neu aufgebaut. Sie umfasst derzeit ca. 7700 Arten aus über 480 Familien mit über 44 000 Inventarnummern. Dazu kommen bisher uninventarisiertes Material mit über 1000 Lots. Die Sammlung wurde im Jahr 2000 komplett gesichtet, zum Teil überarbeitet und in den Magazinen neu aufgestellt. Die von 1949 bis 2000 handschriftlich geführten Eingangsbücher wurden 2001 auf EDV umgestellt. Gleichzeitig wurde mit der Erfassung der Sammlungsbestände in einer Datenbank begonnen, im Rahmen des GBIF-Projektes wurden 2005 die Typenbestände erfasst und mit der Erstellung des Typenkataloges (pre-1944 / post 1945) begonnen. Seit 2012 ist die komplette Sammlung datenbanktechnisch erfaßt.

Sammlungentwicklung

  • 1999: 9.125 Gläser, 63.246 Fische
  • 2009: 19.673 Gläser, 117.157 Fische
  • 2013: 22.443 Gläser, 131.089 Fische
  • Blick in das Fischmagazin am Tag der offenen Tür

Der größte Sammlungszugang ergab sich aus dem 2004 begonnenen Projekt „Erfassung der Fischartenvielfalt Bayerns“. Dieses in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Landesfischereiverband Bayern e.V. durchgeführte Projekt hat zum Ziel, erstmals die gesamte rezente bayerische Fischfauna in einer Belegsammlung zu erfassen und zu dokumentieren. Dabei wird kleinräumig aufgesammelt, so dass alle mittleren und größeren Einzugsgebiete und Seen erfasst werden. Mehr als 2000 lots von 58 Arten aus 14 Familien wurden bisher erfasst, von mehr als 4000 Fischen wurden individuell zuordenbare DNA-Gewebeproben genommen.

Umfangreiches Material an Süßwasserfischen aus West- Zentralafrika erhielt die Sammlung vor allem durch aktuell laufende Forschungsprojekte in Ghana, Kamerun sowie aus dem Unteren Kongo-Fluss (Republik Kongo und Demokratische Republik Kongo).

Durch den Ankauf einer marinen Aufsammlung vor dem Kontinentalschelf vor Angola mit Mitteln der Generaldirektion im Jahr 2003 bekam die Fischsammlung zirka 900 Individuen aus 136 Familien (etwa 400 Arten, davon einige unbeschrieben).

Zusätzlich wurde die historische Fischschuppensammlung der Sektion aufgearbeitet, inventarisiert und neu aufgestellt; insgesamt 710 Schuppenbriefchen aus 25 Familien, 34 Arten. Diese Sammlung beinhaltet unter anderem wertvolle historische Belege bayerischer Fische aus den voralpinen Seen, aber auch Material von heute seltenen Arten wie dem Maifisch (Alosa fallax), oder stark gefährdeten Arten wie Chiemsee-Perfisch (Rutilus meidingerii) oder dem Zingel (Zingel zingel). Die Schuppen stammen vor allem aus den Privatsammlungen von WAGLER, LÖW und SCHINDLER.

Foto der Valdivia

Im Zuge des Umzuges des Departments Biologie II nach Martinsried wurde ein Großteil der ehemaligen Präparatesammlung der Universität an die Zoologische Staatssammlung überführt. Darunter auch 225 lots von 139 Fischarten aus 83 Familien mit vorwiegend anatomischen Schaupräparaten, aber auch wertvolles historisches Material: 9 lots aus der Sammlung Doflein, darunter Material aus seiner Japan-Expedition (Sagami-Bay, 1904) und Reise nach Kalifornien (Monterey Bay); wertvolles Material von der Deutschen Tiefsee / Valdiva-Expedition (1889-1899) sowie Belegmaterial von heimischen Fischen, 12 lots von Hofer und von Siebold aus der Isar bei München.

Schwerpunkte der Sammlung

  • Tiefseehaie und Rochen hauptsächlich aus Australasien (Collection Pfeil).
  • Tiefseefische des atlantischen Rückens von Fahrten des deutschen Forschungsschiffes “Walther Herwig II”
  • Fische des Roten Meeres
  • Ichthyofauna der bayerischen Gewässer
  • Ichthyofauna Südamerikas (Characiden, Cichliden und Loricariiden)
  • Ichthyofauna West- und Zentralafrikas (Süßwasser)
  • Ichthyofauna Sulawesis (Indonesien)

Zusätzliche Informationen

IDES-Projekt mobilisiert und digitalisiert ZSM Fischsammlung

Bedeutende Teilsammlungen

Die Brasilianischen Fische von Spix

Sektion Ichthyologie

Die Fische von Carl Theodor von Siebold (1804-1855)

Sektion Ichthyologie

Die Kähsbauer-Donationen aus NMW

Sektion Ichthyologie

Die Sammlung von Prinzessin Therese von Bayern (1850-1925)

Sektion Ichthyologie

Die Sammlung Wagner

Sektion Ichthyologie

Die Sammlungen Merzbacher und Zugmayer aus Zentralasien

Sektion Ichthyologie

Die Selachier-Sammlung

Sektion Ichthyologie

Die Tiefseefische der Sammlungen Haberer & Doflein

Sektion Ichthyologie

Typenkataloge

Typenkatalog der Sektion Ichthyologie

Sektion Ichthyologie