Research

Research

Section Ornithology

Research projects of the Ornithology Section

Reintroduction of the Northern Bald Ibis (Geronticus eremita)

In Europe, the Northern Bald Ibis (NBI) went extinct mid of the 17th century. Anthropogene factors like hunting and taking offspring out of the nest were the main reasons. Today the NBI is one of the most endangered bird species. In Morocco, a population of about 500 individuals survived, but all other populations in the wild are lost (Turkish pobulation since 1989, in 2002 rediscovered Syrian population since 2013).

Birds

In Cooperation with the conservation project Waldrappteam (www.waldrapp.eu), the scientific topics are the methodology of reintroduction, the social and migratory behaviour. The project Waldrappteam is the first scientifically based attempt to reintroduce an extinct migratory bird species. Human foster parents in microlight airplanes lead zoo-hatched Waldrapp offspring from future breeding grounds to a suitable wintering area. As an adult or even subadult, they find their way back to the breeding area, raise their offspring and lead them to the wintering grounds. This is one way to create a new migration tradition.

Since 2014, the European Union supports the reintroduction of the NBI in context of the LIFE+ programme.

New species out of old specimens:

The study skins in the collection still hide some secrets: quill mites (Syringophilidae) are still in their plumage, and there are still new species to discover! Dr. Maciej Skoracki (Adam-Mickiewicz-University Posen) works with this material on a regular basis and describes new mites species. The Holotypes are stored in the Arthropoda varia secion at the ZSM.

Forschung

Forschung

Sektion Ornithologie

Forschungsprojekte der Sektion Ornithologie

Wiederansiedlung des Waldrapps (Geronticus eremita):

Seit Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts gilt diese Ibisart in Europa als ausgestorben. In erster Linie dafür verantwortlich sind anthropogene Einflüsse, vor allem der Abschuss adulter Tiere und das Aushorsten der Nestlinge. Heute ist der Waldrapp weltweit bedroht. Die marokkanische Küstenpopulation ist die letzte Wildpopulation und besteht derzeit aus ca. 500 Tieren. Die Ostpopulation erlosch in der Türkei bereits 1989, die erst 2002 entdeckte Kolonie bei Palmyra in Syrien im Jahr 2013.

Fluggeraet

In Kooperation mit dem Forschungs- und Artenschutzprojekt Waldrappteam (www.waldrapp.eu) werden verschiedene Aspekte der Wiederansiedlung, Migrations- und Sozialverhalten des Waldrapps erforscht. Dieses Projekt ist der erste wissenschaftlich fundierte Versuch, eine ausgerottete Zugvogelart wiederanzusiedeln. Mit Hilfe von Ultraleichtflugzeugen werden auf menschliche Bezugspersonen elterngeprägte Nestlinge aus Zoos in mehreren Etappen vom Brut- ins Wintergebiet geführt. Diese Tiere geben ihr erlerntes Wissen an unerfahrene Jungtiere weiter, die in den Brutgebieten aufwachsen. So kann eine über Generationen in Zoos gezüchteten Art, die immer noch eine genetische Zugdisposition besitzt, wieder eine Zugtradition ausbilden.

Seit 2014 wird das Wiederansiedlungsprojekt im Rahmen des LIFE+ Förderprogramms kofinanziert.

Neue Arten aus alten Bälgen:

Die Vogelbälge der ZSM enthalten noch einige Überraschungen: Federspulmilben (Syringophilidae) sind immer noch im Gefieder vorhanden, und noch immer finden sich neue Arten! Dr. Maciej Skoracki von der Adam-Mickiewicz-Universität Posen besucht seit vielen Jahren die ZSM und beschreibt anhand dieses Materials neue Milbenarten, deren Holotypen in der Sektion Arthropoda varia hinterlegt werden.