History

History

Section Evertebrata varia

The section Evertebrata varia exists since 1999. It was formed by the fusion of the former section Echinodermata with the coelenterate and “vermes” collection and the incorporation of all other non-molluscan and non-arthropodan evertebrates.

The very base of the collections is formed by marine material from Japan. Most of this has been accumulated by the expedition of Franz Doflein (1873-1924) to East Asia (1904/1905) and collecting activities by K.A. Haberer during his stays in Japan (1898-1904). Originally the material consisted of about 6000 samples of all marine taxa, most of which was collected in the Sagami Bay near Tokyo/Yokohama. By subsequent scientific activities material of many important oceanographic expeditions – most worth mentioning the German deep sea expedition (Valdivia) (1898/1899) – became incorporated in the collection.

The Cnidaria-Hydrozoa represents an outstanding part of the collection. It is based upon material accumulated by Prof. Dr. Eberhard Stechow (1883-1959). Stechow described over 100 new species and thus is fourth in ranking among describers of hydrozoan species. Consequently his legacy of type material is vast. He had been working at the ZSM for longer than 40 years, where he became “Konservator” (= “curator”) in 1927. In 1937 he was appointed head of the department Evertebrata. During his area important material of other cnidarian taxa, like types of Anthozoa described by for example R.A. Kölliker or W. Kükenthal, were deposited in the collection. After the times of Stechow the cnidarian collection received type and voucher material of several investigations (e.g. Dr. A. Svoboda, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Dr. V. Häussermann, Huinay Station, Chile). Recently a conspicuous collection of sea anemones from the Chilean coast was purchased from V. Häussermann.

The most important taxon of the collection is the Echinodermata. The majority of the material stems from the investigations of Ludwig Döderlein (1855-1936), part of which was collected by himself during a stay in Japan (1879-1881). After the First World War, Döderlein was forced to leave Strasbourg, where he was director of the zoological Museum. He moved to Munich and managed to bring part of his valuable material, mainly echinoderms collected in Japan, to the ZSM. He became had of the ZSM in his old age from 1923-1927. During the time when Dr. H. Fechter was in charge of the Section Echinodermata (1964-1999), the collection received material from the Red Sea, the Mediterranean Sea and the north-eastern Atlantic Sea.

In recent times all systematic areas of the section Evertebrata varia were enlarged by material from excursions to marine biological stations on European coasts and marine biological research cruises (Antarctic, South Atlantic Ocean) by scientists of the ZSM.

Geschichte

Geschichte

Sektion Evertebrata varia

Die Sektion Evertebrata varia besteht als solche seit 1999 durch Zusammenlegung der Sektion Echinodermata mit der Coelenteraten- und “Vermes”-Sammlung sowie der Eingliederung aller sonstigen nicht-arthropoden und nicht-mollusken Wirbellosen.

Die Basis der Sammlung wie bildetet marines Material aus Japan. Dieses entstammt vor allem der Ausbeuten der Ostasienreise (1904/1905) von Prof. Dr. Franz Doflein (1873-1924) und auch von Aufsammlungen (1898-1904) von K.A. Haberer. Das Material bestand ursprünglich aus ca. 6000 Proben alle mariner Taxa, die größtenteils im Bereich der Sagami Bay nahe Tokyo/Yokohma gesammelt wurden. In weiterer Folge gelangte Material vieler anderer bedeutender meeresbiologischer Expeditionen, wie z.B. die deutschen Tiefsee-Expedition (Valdivia) (1898/1899), an die Sammlung.

Die Hydrozoa-Sammlung (Cnidaria), ein Sammlungsteil von besonderer Bedeutung, basiert auf von Prof. Dr. Eberhard Stechow (1883-1959) bearbeitetem Material. Stechow beschrieb über 100 Arten neu und nimmt damit den vierten Platz der Beschreibern von Hydrozoen-Arten ein. Entsprechend umfangreich ist seine Hinterlassenschaft an Typenmaterial. E. Stechow war über 40 Jahre an der ZSM tätig, wo er von 1927 an Konservator und ab 1937 Abteilungsleiter für wirbellose Tiere war. In der Zeit von Stechow gelangte auch bedeutendes Material von anderen Cnidaria-Taxa, u.a. von Athozoen-Typen von R.A. Kölliker oder W. Kükenthal, an die Sammlung. In neuerer Zeit wurde Belegmaterial von Untersuchungchen von u.a. Dr. Armin Svoboda (Ruhr-Universität Bochum) und Dr. Verena Häussermann (Huinay Station, Chile) hier deponiert.

Die Echinodermata-Sammlung, die wichtigste Teilsammlung, basiert auf Material, welches von Prof. Dr. Ludwig Döderlein (1855-1936) bearbeitet und zum Teil auch selber in Japan (1879-1881) gesammelte wurde. Nach dem ersten Weltkrieg wurde Döderlein gezwungen Strassburg, wo er Direktor des zoologischen Museums war, zu verlassen. Er schaffte es einen beträchtlichen Teile seines (Typen-)Materials – hauptsächlich Echinodermen aus Japan zur ZSM zu transferieren. Im fortgeschrittenen Alter, von 1923-1927 wurde er noch Leiter der gesamten ZSM. In der Zeit der Leitung der Sektion Echinodermata durch Dr. Hubert Fechter (1964-1999) wurde diese Sammlung durch Material aus dem Roten Meer, dem Mittelmeer und dem nordöstlichen Atlantik ergänzt und erweitert.

In jüngerer Zeit wurde die gesamte Sammlung Evertebrata varia durch Material von Exkursionen an meeresbiologischen Stationen europäischer Küsten und Forschungsschiffahrten (z.B. Antarktis: M. Schrödl & J.M. Bohn; Südatlantik: B. Ruthensteiner & J.M. Bohn) erweitert.