History

History

Section Diptera

Gauromydas heros

The beginnings of the ZSM Diptera collection date back to the early 19th century. In the years 1817-1820 Johann Baptist Ritter von Spix, the first director of the ZSM, made extensive zoological collections on an expedition to Brazil. Many of his often striking fly specimens are still preserved today. From Spix’s material, Joseph Anton Maximilian Perty (1804-1884) described 24 dipteran species new to science, among them Gauromydas heros (Perty, 1833), at 6 cm body length the largest fly species on earth (photograph at right).

Subsequently, however, it was to take almost another century until in 1911 Erich Otto Engel (1866-1944), the first true dipterist at the ZSM, began to set up a separate, actual Diptera collection. Around 1920 significant additions were made with the collections of Josef Kriechbaumer (Bavaria) and Michael Funk (Bavaria and Trieste). Friedrich Hermann bequeathed to the ZSM his large collection of Asilidae, including numerous type specimens from Argentina, Chile and South Africa, as well as extensive material of other orthorrhaphous Brachycera. In 1940 the collection of Johann Nepomuk Ertl was incorporated.

During World War II, parts of the the ZSM collections including the Diptera were evacuated to Neuegling castle. The only significant loss occurred during the subsequent period of Allied occupation, when in May 1945 a wooden cabinet with parts of the Nematocera collection, including type material, was burned for heating.

After the war the Diptera collection remained without curation for several years, until in 1951 Friedrich Kühlhorn (1912-1987; on duty until 1977) was employed who, however, initially had to take care of 14 other insect orders as well. In 1965 Wolfgang Schacht (1939-2011) became the ZSM’s first ever technical assistant especially for Diptera.

With the 1976 appointments of Ernst Josef Fittkau as director of ZSM and of Friedrich Reiss in the Diptera section, the latter received new impulses. At the same time a donation from the former Max-Planck-Institute of Limnology in Plön brought to the ZSM the most extensive and important Chironomidae collections and documents of August Thienemann, Friedrich Lenz, and E. J. Fittkau.

In the following decades the collection kept growing rapidly, particularly through material from doctoral and other academic theses supervised by E. J. Fittkau, numerous systematic collecting trips by W. Schacht (particularly in Central Europe, Turkey, southern France, and Spain), and from the ample exchanges between F. Reiss and other chironomid researchers. Additional important accessions came from various faunistic projects conducted in Bavaria, as well as from occasional collecting or donations by employees or friends of the ZSM, e.g. by Hans Mendl (Limoniidae), Eberhard Plassmann (Mycetophiloidea), and Max Kühbandner (Stratiomyiidae).

Since 2000 the ZSM Diptera section has been headed by Marion Kotrba. Wolfgang Schacht retired in 2004 after distinguished service for almost fourty years, but remained very active in our collections and dipterology in general until his too early death in 2011. His successor, Bärbel Stock, provided technical assistance on three days per week from 2005-2010. Fortunately, the section has been assigned a full technician again as of January 2011, and this position has been filled with an experienced dipterologist, Dieter Doczkal. Since June of 2011, the technical-curatorial responsibilities for the Diptera section collections (except those of Chironomidae) have been assigned to Dieter Doczkal, who performs the corresponding duties as he sees fit, under general supervision by Axel Hausmann, the head of the ZSM’s entomology department. The Chironomidae collections are curated by Martin Spies in consultation with Marion Kotrba. Several former students of E. J. Fittkau’s have kept active associations to the Section, first and foremost Martin Spies, who has been doing resident research and has helped maintain and improve the chironomid collections since 1995, currently in part-time employment.

Personnel timetable:

  • 1810-1826 J. B. v. Spix
  • c. 1886 A. Hiendlmayr
  • 1911-1944 E. O. Engel
  • 1951-1977 F. Kühlhorn
  • 1965-2004 W. Schacht
  • 1976-1999 F. Reiss
  • since 2000 M. Kotrba
  • 2005-2010 B. Stock
  • since 2010 M. Spies
  • since 2011 D. Doczkal

(partially drawn from: Reiss 1992)

References

Fittkau, E. J. & M. Spies 1999. Obituary notice. In memory of Friedrich Reiss (24 December 1937 – 17 August 1999). – Chironomus 12: 17-23.

Kotrba M 2011. Wolfgang Schacht (10. November 1939 – 10. April 2011). An obituary.- Studia dipterologica 17:3-11.

Reiss, F.1992: Die Sektion Diptera der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München. – Spixiana Suppl. 17: 72-82.

Reiss, F. & W. Schacht 1983: Die Typen der von J. B. v. Spix und C. F. Ph. v. Martius gesammelten und von M. Perty beschriebenen Dipterenarten (Insecta) in der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München. – Spixiana Suppl. 9: 307-312.

Geschichte

Geschichte

Sektion Diptera

Die Anfänge der Dipterensammlung der ZSM reichen bis in das frühe 19. Jahrhundert zurück. In den Jahren 1817-1820 sammelte Johann Baptist Ritter von Spix, der erste Direktor der ZSM, in Brasilien unter anderem eine ganze Reihe meist auffälliger Dipterenarten, die größenteils in der ZSM erhalten geblieben sind. Dieses Material wurde von Joseph Anton Maximilian Perty (1804-1884) bearbeitet (Reiss & Schacht 1983). Unter den 24 als neu beschriebenen Dipterenarten befand sich auch Gauromydas heros (PERTY 1833), die mit 6 cm Körperlänge größte Fliegenart der Welt (Bild rechts).

Es sollte aber noch fast ein Jahrhundert dauern, bis 1911 Erich Otto Engel (1866-1944) als erster Dipterologe an der ZSM mit dem Aufbau einer eigentlichen Dipteren-Sammlung begann. Um 1920 entstand durch die Aufsammlungen von Josef Kriechbaumer (Bayern) und Michael Funk (Bayern und Triest) bedeutender Zuwachs. Der Nachlass von Friedrich Hermann brachte vorwiegend determinierte Asilidae, darunter zahlreiche Typen, besonders aus Argentinien, Chile und Südafrika, sowie zahlreiches Material anderer orthorrhapher Brachycera. 1940 kam die Sammlung Johann Nepomuk Ertl hinzu.

Während des zweiten Weltkrieges waren die Diptera der ZSM, zusammen mit anderen Sammlungsteilen, in das Schloß Neuegling ausgelagert. Der einzige Verlust entstand während der anschließenden Besatzungszeit, als im Mai 1945 ein Teil der Nematoceren-Bestände einschließlich typischen Materials durch Verheizen eines Sammlungsschrankes samt Inhalt vernichtet wurde.

Nach dem Krieg blieben die Diptera einige Jahre ohne Betreuung, bis sie 1951 Friedrich Kühlhorn (1912-1987; im Dienst bis 1977) übernahm, der anfangs allerdings außer den Zweiflüglern noch 14 andere Insektenordnungen zu verwalten hatte. 1965 wurde mit Wolfgang Schacht (1939-2011) erstmals eine technische Kraft eigens für die Dipteren-Sammlung eingestellt.

Mit den Anstellungen 1976 von Ernst Josef Fittkau als Leitendem Sammlungsdirektor der ZSM und von Friedrich Reiss (1937-1999) in der Sektion Diptera erhielt diese neue Impulse. Gleichzeitig kamen durch eine Schenkung des ehemaligen Max-Planck-Instituts für Limnologie in Plön die umfangreichen und bedeutenden Chironomiden-Sammlungen und -Dokumente von August Thienemann, Friedrich Lenz und E. J. Fittkau an die ZSM.

In den folgenden Jahrzehnten erhielt die Dipteren-Sammlung Zuwachs besonders aus Doktor- und Diplomarbeiten unter Anleitung von E. J. Fittkau, dem regen Materialtausch von F. Reiss mit anderen Chironomiden-Forschern, aus zahlreichen systematischen Freilandfängen durch W. Schacht (vor allem in Mitteleuropa, Türkei, Südfrankreich und Spanien), aus verschiedenen faunistischen Projekten in Bayern, sowie durch Gelegenheits-Aufsammlungen im Ausland durch Mitarbeiter und Freunde der ZSM. Weitere Sammlungs-Bereicherungen brachten Schenkungen seitens der freien Mitarbeiter Hans Mendl (Limoniidae) und Eberhard Plassmann (Mycetophiloidea), einer umfangreichen Stratiomyiden-Sammlung von Max Kühbandner und verschiedener kleinerer Posten.

Seit 2000 leitet Marion Kotrba die Sektion Diptera. W. Schacht ging Ende 2004 nach fast 40-jähriger Amtszeit in den Ruhestand, blieb jedoch bis zu seinem zu frühen Tod 2011 als Dipterologe aktiv und um unsere Sammlungen bemüht. Seine Nachfolgerin, Bärbel Stock, arbeitete von 2005 bis 2010 an drei Tagen pro Woche für die Sektion. Glücklichweise steht seit Januar 2011 wieder eine volle Technikerstelle zur Verfügung, die mit einem ausgewiesenen Dipterenkenner, Dieter Doczkal, besetzt werden konnte. Die technisch-kuratorische Verantwortlichkeit für die Sammlungen der Sektion Diptera (außer Chironomidae) liegt seit Juni 2011 bei Dieter Doczkal, der in Absprache mit Axel Hausmann (Abteilungsleiter Entomologie) diese Sammlungen eigenverantwortlich betreut. Die Sammlung Chironomidae wird von Martin Spies in Absprache mit Marion Kotrba betreut. Viele frühere Studenten von E. J. Fittkau sind der ZSM weiterhin verbunden, allen voran Martin Spies, der seit 1995 in der Sektion forscht und mithilft und seit 2010 in Teilzeit angestellt ist.

Zu den bedeutendsten Materialzugängen der letzten Jahre zählt die Chironomiden-Sammlung von Prof. W. Wülker mit etwa 11.000 Mikropräparaten.

Zeittafel
1810-1826 J. B. v. Spix
ca. 1886 A. Hiendlmayr
1911-1944 E. O. Engel
1951-1977 F. Kühlhorn
1965-2004 W. Schacht
1976-1999 F. Reiss
seit 2000 M. Kotrba
2005-2010 B. Stock
seit 2010 M. Spies
seit 2011 D. Doczkal

(zusammengefasst aus: Reiss 1992)

Literatur

Fittkau, E. J. & M. Spies 1999. Obituary notice. In memory of Friedrich Reiss (24 December 1937 – 17 August 1999). – Chironomus 12: 17-23.

Kotrba M 2011. Wolfgang Schacht (10. November 1939 – 10. April 2011). An obituary.- Studia dipterologica 17:3-11.

Reiss, F. 1992: Die Sektion Diptera der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München. – Spixiana Suppl. 17: 72-82.

Reiss, F. & W. Schacht 1983: Die Typen der von J. B. v. Spix und C. F. Ph. v. Martius gesammelten und von M. Perty beschriebenen Dipterenarten (Insecta) in der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München. – Spixiana Suppl. 9: 307-312.