History

History

Section Coleoptera

The basis of the Coleoptera Collection are the rich samples that J. B. von Spix and K. F. P. Martius collected during their famous expedition to Brazil (1817-1820). These samples were taxonomically worked by M. Perty. The results of this voyage also founded the geographical focus of the collection, namely the beetles of the Neotropics. Perty already 1833 left Munich and it was not before 1843 when again a coleopterist worked on the collection (J. Roth).

From 1849 until his death in 1887 M. Gemminger was curator of the collection. During this time the collection flourished. Although J. Kriechbamer was employed as successor for J. Roth who died in 1858, he was mainly interested in Hymenoptera. Hence, after M. Gemmingers death the collection was left unmanaged for almost 40 years.

When H. Kulzer was employed as preparator in 1920, the collection was cared for firstly by a coleopterist. Kulzer did most of the modern curatorial work. After Kulzers retreat in 1948 H. Freude was elected firstly assistent and since 1952 curator. From this time the entomological department was divided into sections.

1973 H. Freude was followed by G. Scherer who curated the collection until 1994, since that time M. Baehr is head of the section who previously was in charge of the Hemiptera and Orthopteroidea collection. Both, H. Freude and G. Scherer conducted extensive arrangements which were hampered firstly by the restricted space in the Nymphenburg Castle, where the collection was located for many years after Word War II, and also by the lack of modern drawers. It was not until the move to the new building (1985) that the situation was improved, and today the bulk of the material is properly arranged.

Thus, it becomes evident that the history of the Coleoptera collection was not continuous. The lack of curators interested in Coleoptera for many years severely hampered the increase of the collection in times when entomology flourished and comparable collections grew rapidly. However, the different fields of interests of the curators also were useful for the collection, because they focussed their interests on many different beetle families which were collected and worked.

Therefore, today the beetle collection is a quite well balanced mixture of very different systematic groupings from various countries. Certain systematic focuses have persisted, e.g. Heteromera, Water beetles, Cetoniinae, mainly based on the acquisitions of such important collections as those of C. Müller, A. Zimmermann, and H. Schein. The rich collections of Monommidae and parts of Tenebrionidae (H. Freude), Chrysomelidae-Alticinae (G. Scherer), and Australian Carabidae (M. Baehr) were originated from the scientific work of the mentioned curators .

Recently a collection of larvae is being built up which so far includes rich material of Chrysomelidae (Dr. W. Steinhausen) and Carabidae (Prof. Dr. E. Arndt).

Geschichte

Geschichte

Sektion Coleoptera

Den Grundstock der Coleopteren-Sammlung bilden die umfangreichen, durch M. Perty bearbeiteten Aufsammlungen von J. B. von Spix und K. F .P. Martius während ihrer berühmten Reise nach Brasilien (1817-1820). Die Ergebnisse dieser Reise begründeten auch einen der geographischen Schwerpunkte der Sammlung, nämlich die Käfer der neotropischen Region. Perty verließ jedoch bereits 1833 München und erst mit J. Roth arbeitete seit 1843 erneut ein Coleopterologe an der Sammlung.

Bereits 1849 kam auch M. Gemminger als Kustos an die Sammlung und blieb hier bis zu seinem Tode 1887. Unter ihm nahm die Käfersammlung einen ersten bedeutenden Aufschwung. Obgleich J. Kriechbaumer als Nachfolger für den 1858 verstorbenen J. Roth eingestellt wurde, interessierte dieser sich vornehmlich für die Hymenopteren. So blieb die Coleopterensammlung nach M. Gemmingers Tod fast 40 Jahre lang verwaist und führte einen Dornröschenschlaf.

Erst mit der Anstellung von H. Kulzer als Präparator im Jahr 1920 wurde die Sammlung erneut von einem Coleopterologen betreut. Auf Kulzer geht ein Großteil der Ordnungsarbeiten in modernerem Stil zurück. Nach Kulzers Pensionierung 1948 wurde H. Freude zunächst Assistent und ab 1952 Konservator. Seit dieser Zeit datiert auch die Einteilung der Entomologie nach Sektionen.

Auf H. Freude folgte 1973 G. Scherer, der die Sammlung bis 1994 leitete, seither liegt die Leitung in den Händen von M. Baehr, der vorher die Hemiptera und Orthopteroidea betreut hatte. Beide, H. Freude und G. Scherer, führten umfangreiche Aufstellungsarbeiten durch, die zunächst durch die beengten räumlichen Verhältnisse im Nymphenburger Schloß und durch den Mangel an geeigneten Kästen behindert wurden. Erst nach der Übersiedlung ins das neue Gebäude (1985) verbesserte sich die Situation entscheidend und heute ist ein Großteil der Bestände übersichtlich aufgestellt.

Dieser kurze Abriß verdeutlicht, daß die Geschichte der Coleopterensammlung durchaus nicht kontinuierlich verlaufen ist. Das Fehlen von an den Käfern interessierten Betreuern über lange Jahre hat den Aufbau der Sammlung zu einer Zeit zurückgeworfen, als die Entomologie blühte und vergleichbare Sammlungen enorm wuchsen. Die verschiedenen Interessen der Konservatoren haben der Sammlung allerdings auch genützt, denn dadurch wurden immer wieder andere Käfergruppen bevorzugt gesammelt und bearbeitet.

Daher bildet die Sammlung heute eine recht ausgewogene Mischung aus den verschiedensten systematischen Gruppen und von sehr unterschiedlicher Provenienz. Gewisse systematische Schwerpunkte sind geblieben, etwa die Heteromera, die Wasserkäfer und die Cetoniinae, auf Grund des Erwerbs so bedeutender Sammlungen wie derjenigen von C. Müller, A. Zimmermann und H. Schein. Auf die Bearbeitungen durch die Konservatoren gehen außerdem die gut bestückten Sammlungen von Monommidae und Teilen der Tenebrionidae (H. Freude), Chrysomelidae-Alticinae (G. Scherer) und australischen Carabidae (M. Baehr) zurück.

Seit einiger Zeit wird eine Larvensammlung aufgebaut, die bisher vor allem reichhaltiges Material der Chrysomelidae (Dr. W. Steinhausen) und Carabidae (Prof. Dr. E. Arndt) enthält.