Research at the Mollusca Section

Research at the Mollusca Section

Section Mollusca - Research

Research at the Mollusca Section

We have studied the diversity, morphology, taxonomy, ultrastructure, phylogeny and evolution of worldwide opisthobranch gastropods, chitons, monoplacophorans and other mollusks, with more than 100 peer-reviewed papers published during the last 10 years (see lists on staff page).

Taxonomic, faunal and biogeographical approaches include South America (e.g. Schrödl 1999, 2003, 2009), Antarctica(e.g. Schwabe et al. 2007) and adjacent Atlantic deep sea (e.g. Schrödl et al. 2011), but also worldwide tropical reefs such as northern Sulawesi (Burghardt et al. 2006), Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, Samoa and Fiji (e.g. Neusser & Schrödl 2009).

Traditional comparative anatomical and phylogenetic methodology (e.g. Schrödl et al. 2001, Schrödl & Wägele 2001, Martynov & Schrödl 2008) was supplemented by modeling 3D-microanatomy from serial semithin (e.g. Brenzinger et al. 2011a) and TEM sections (Jörger et al. 2009). Recently, considering microanatomical and ontogenetic data (Martynov et al. 2011), we challenged current views on dorid sea slug evolution and showed the prominent role of heterochrony (Martynov & Schrödl 2011). Using Acochlidian sea slugs as a globally distributed and ecologically diverse model taxon with manageable species richness we compare and integrate morphology-based (Schrödl & Neusser 2010) and molecular phylogenetic approaches (Jörger et al. 2010; Neusser et al. 2011).

Molecular phylogenetic work with multi-locus markers started with opisthobranch phylogeny (Vonnemann et al. 2005), addressed chitons (Okusu et al. 2003) and basal molluscs (Giribet et al. 2006), and led to a recent reclassification and molecular timing of euthyneurans (Jörger et al. 2010). What we may call the “New Euthyneura Tree” changes centenary textbook knowledge on the evolution of this extremely diverse group (Schrödl et al. 2011). Work in progress concentrates on resolving basal molluscan and heterobranch gastropod phylogeny, integrating targeted genes, mitogenomic and phylogenomic approaches with morphological and fossil evidences.

Recent research efforts refer to uncovering cryptic diversity, conceptually and practically delimitating species via molecular and integrative approaches, and transferring results into sound taxonomy. Exploring anatomy of complex and small specimens or organ systems in greatest possible depth via software-generated 3D-models from semiserial histological sections is a perfect supplement testing molecular results and filling species trees with life (Brenzinger et al. 2011a,b,c; Eder et al., 2011). As an example, the “bug-eating slug” Aiteng ater, single member of the new sacoglossan family Aitengidae and among the “Top 10 bizarre species of the year 2010”, was shown to be an acochlidian adapted to semi-terrestrial life (Neusser et al. 2011a). Beyond DNA barcoding, Neusser et al. (2011b) presented a case study to the question of proper species delineation, when dealing with small animals cryptic to traditional taxonomy, and far from optimal sampling sizes available. Adopting this integrative, multi-methodological standard, we strive to explore cryptic sea slug diversity from global sampling efforts, newly also including Bavarian mollusks.

Collaborations

Science works on a global scale, and staff of the Mollusca Section is connected to numerous museums, institutes, programs and experts on all continents; e.g. the Huinay Scientific Field Station.

Forschung an der Mollusken-Sektion

Forschung an der Mollusken-Sektion

Sektion Mollusca - Forschung

Forschung an der Mollusken-Sektion

Während der letzten 10 Jahre haben wir u.a. die Diversität, Morphologie, Taxonomie, Ultrastruktur, Phylogenie und Evolution weltweiter opisthobrancher Gastropoden, Polyplacophoren, Monoplacophoren und anderer Mollusken studiert, und über 100 Fachartikel in internationalen Zeitschriften veröffentlicht (siehe Listen auf Mitarbeiterseite.

Taxonomische, faunistische und biogeographische Arbeiten beziehen sich auf Südamerika (z.B. Schrödl 1999, 2003, 2009), Antarktis (z.B. Schwabe et al. 2007) und angrenzende Tiefsee im Atlantik (z.B. Schrödl et al. 2011), aber auch auf weltweite tropische Riffe wie in Nord-Sulawesi (Burghardt et al. 2006), den Solomonen, Vanuatu, Samoa und Fiji (z.B. Neusser & Schrödl 2009).

Traditionelle vergleichend anatomische und phylogenetische Ansätze (z.B. Schrödl et al. 2001, Schrödl & Wägele 2001, Martynov & Schrödl 2008) werden durch 3D-mikroanatomische Rekonstruktionen von histologischen (z.B. Brenzinger et al. 2011a) und Transmissions-elektonenmikroskopischen Serienschnitten ergänzt (Jörger et al. 2009). Soeben haben wir unter Berücksichtigung mikroanatomischer und ontogenetischer Daten (Martynov et al. 2011) gängige Lehrmeinungen zur Evolution der Meeresnacktschnecken widerlegt und die wichtige Rolle von Heterochronie als Evolutionsprozeß bei Sternschnecken aufgezeigt (Martynov & Schrödl 2011). Wir nutzen die global verbreitete, ökologisch extrem vielfältige traditionelle Schnecken-“Ordnung” Acochlidia zu Morphologie-basierten (Schrödl & Neusser 2010) und molekularen phylogenetischen Analysen (Jörger et al. 2010; Neusser et al. 2011).

Molekular-systematische Studien begannen mit kollaborativen Arbeiten zu Meeres-Nacktschnecken (Vonnemann et al. 2005), Chitonen (Okusu et al. 2003) and basalen Mollusken, inklusive der Etablierung der umstrittenen Serialia-Hypothese (Monoplacophora plus Polyplacophora) durch Giribet et al. (2006)). Unlängst datierten wir den Ursprung und die Diversifikation euthyneurer Schnecken mithilfe molekularer Uhren und klassifizierten die Euthyneura neu (Jörger et al. 2010). Unser “Neuer Euthyneura Baum” stellt altes Lehrbuchwissen zur Evolution dieser mit ca. 40.000 Arten extrem diversen Gruppe auf den Kopf (Schrödl et al. 2011). Laufende Forschungsarbeiten konzentrieren sich auf die Aufklärung der Phylogenie basaler Mollusken und Heterobranchier. Anhand von selektierten genetischen Markern, mitochondrialen und gesamt-genomischen Ansätzen generierte Daten werden mithilfe morphologischer und fossiler Befunde bewertet.

Ein weiteres hochaktuelles Forschungsfeld ist die Aufdeckung kryptischer Artendiversität durch molekulare und integrative Datensätze, und die solide taxonomische Umsetzung der Ergebnisse. DNA-taxonomische Schlüsse werden durch detaillierte mikroanatomische Daten geprüft und ergänzt, und molekulare Artenbäume so erst mit Leben erfüllt (Brenzinger et al. 2011a,b,c; Eder et al., 2011). Beispielsweise konnten wir zeigen, dass die amphibische Schnecke Aiteng ater, als “bug-eating slug” einzig bekannter Vertreter der neuen Sacoglossen-Familie Aitengidae und unter den “Top 10” der bizarrsten Tierarten des Jahres 2010, zu den ansonsten aquatischen Acochlidien gehört und ungewöhnliche morphologische Merkmale Anpassungen an das semi-terrestrische Habitat darstellen könnten (Neusser et al. 2011a). Jenseits von DNA barcoding präsentierten Neusser et al. (2011b) eine Fallstudie zur Artabgrenzung von exotischen, mikroskopisch kleinen, wurmförmigen und kryptischen Tieren, die üblicherweise nicht in den für populationsgenetische Ansätze erforderlichen großen Stückzahlen gesammelt werden können. Basierend auf mehreren Datensätzen und multiplen Auswertemethoden möchten wir problematische Meeresmollusken weltweit erforschen, und widmen uns seit Kurzem auch verstärkt den einheimischen Mollusken.

Kollaborationen

Die Naturwissenschaften sind längst globalisiert. Die Mitarbeiter der Sektion Mollusca stehen in regem Kontakt zu zahlreichen Museen, Forschungsinstituten, nationalen und internationalen wissenschaftlichen Programmen, und zu Forscherkollegen auf allen Kontinenten; ein Beispiel für langjährige intensive Zusammenarbeit ist die Biologische Station Huinay in der chilenischen Fjordregion.