Forschung

Forschung

Section Diptera

Research projects at the Diptera Section

(as of february 2018)

M. Kotrba:

MAIN RESEARCH

  • Phylogeny and systematics of Diptera, especially acalyptrate Schizophora.
  • Comparative anatomy, micromorphology and function of the internal female genital organs in Diptera, especially Schizophora (sperm transfer and storage, egg fertilization, sperm competition, cryptic female choice, vivipary).
  • Coevolution of male and female genitalia in Diptera
  • Giant spermatozoa
  • Phylogeny and life history of stalk-eyed flies (Diopsidae).
  • Problems of scientific wet collections.

ONGOING PROJECTS

  • Morphology and ultrastructure of the spermatozoa of Lonchopteridae. Project in cooperation with M. Tröster. – The internal male and female reproductive tract and particularly the giant spermatozoa of Lonchopteridae are studied using light microscopy, transmission electron microscopy, and confocal laser microscopy.
  • Comparative morphology and phylogenetic analysis of the internal female reproductive tract of Aulacigastridae. Project in cooperation with A. Rung. – The internal female reproductive organs of Aulacigastridae are dissected from fresh and pinned material. They are studied with light microscopy, documented, coded and analyzed with respect to an existing independent phylogenetic hypothesis.
  • Comparative morphology of the female reproductive tract in Conopidae.
  • pH measurements in solutions with various alcohol concentrations. – Empirical evaluation of the systematic error due to ethanol concentration.

Martin Spies:

  • Continuous physical and electronic inventorying of animal and document holdings at ZSM concerning Chironomidae, as well as their actualisation according to taxonomic or nomenclatural changes in the chironomid system.
  • Continuation of an electronic registry concerning the nomenclature and geographic distribution of the Chironomidae in Europe. Earlier version published as part of the Fauna Europaea database (Sæther & Spies 2004, 2011, Spies & Sæther 2004; see publication list.
  • Continuation of an electronic catalogue and bibliography of Neotropical Chironomidae. First edition published by Spies & Reiss (1996).
  • Successive taxonomic revision of members of the Harnischia complex (Chironomidae), especially of Parachironomus and neighboring genera.

Forschung

Forschung

Sektion Diptera

Forschungsprojekte in der Sektion Diptera

(Stand: Februar 2018)

M. Kotrba:

FORSCHUNGSSCHWERPUNKTE

  • Phylogenie und Systematik der Dipteren, speziell der acalyptraten Schizophora.
  • Vergleichende Untersuchung der Anatomie, Mikromorphologie und Funktion der inneren weiblichen Geschlechtsorgane der Diptera, insbesondere Schizophora, unter phylogenetischen und funktionsmorphologischen Aspekten (Spermaübertragung und -speicherung, Befruchtung der Eier, Spermakonkurrenz, cryptic female choice, Viviparie).
  • Vorkommen und Evolution des ventralen Rezeptakulum bei den acalyptraten Schizophora
  • Koevolution männlicher und weiblicher Strukturen bei Fliegen.
  • Riesenspermatozoen
  • Phylogenie und Biologie der Diopsidae (Stielaugenfliegen).
  • Massenauftreten der Rasenhalmfliege Thaumatomyianotata.
  • Untersuchungen zu Problemen mit wissenschaftlichen Naßsammlungen.

AKTUELLE PROJEKTE

  • Das ventrale Rezeptakulum und die Spermatheken von Piophila casei (Diptera: Piophilidae)
  • Morphologie und Ultrastruktur der Spermatozoen von Lonchopteridae.
  • Vergleichende Morphologie und phylogenetische Analyse der inneren weiblichen Geschlechtsorgane von Baumsaftfliegen (Aulacigastridae). Projekt in Kooperation mit A. Rung. – Die inneren weiblichen Geschlechtsorgane von Aulacigastridae werden präpariert und lichtmikroskopisch dokumentiert, ihre Merkmale kodiert und anhand eines aufgrund unabhängiger Daten erstellten Stammbaumes phylogenetisch analysiert.
  • Vergleichende Untersuchung der inneren weiblichen Geschlechtsorgane der Conopidae.

M. Spies:

  • Laufende physische und elektronische Bestandsaufnahme von ZSM-Sammlungs- und -Dokument-Beständen bzgl. Chironomidae, sowie deren Anpassung an taxonomische oder nomenklatorische Veränderungen im Chironomiden-System.
  • Fortführung eines elektronischen Verzeichnisses bzgl. Nomenklatur und geographischer Verbreitung der Chironomidae Europas. Frühere Version veröffentlicht als Teil der Fauna Europaea (Sæther & Spies 2004, 2011, Spies & Sæther 2004).
  • Fortführung von Katalog und Bibliographie Neotropischer Chironomidae. Erstausgabe durch Spies & Reiss (1996).
  • Sukzessive taxonomische Revision von Mitgliedern des Harnischia-Komplexes (Chironomidae), speziell von Parachironomus und benachbarten Gattungen.