Molecular Laboratory

Molecular Laboratory

The methodology of the molecular lab at the ZSM comprises DNA-extractions following different protocols and further downstream applications such as PCR, long-range PCR, real-time PCR, Sanger sequencing, NGS library preparation (Illumina), ddRAD and target gene capturing. Generated data are used to target a variety of molecular phylogenetic and population genetic questions. The lab is equipped with all essential technical instrumentation to process single samples as well to perform high throughput operations.

An ABI 3012 capillary sequencer is mainly used for high throughput fragment analysis. Most of the standard high throughput sequencing jobs as well as Next Generation Sequencing jobs are done at the sequencing unit of the Genetics Department of the Ludwig-Maximilians-University, on an ABI 3730 capillary sequencer and the Illumina MiSeq.

Our lab is used by PostDocs, PhD students as well as bachelor and master students and volunteers. We target phylogenetic and population genetic questions, covering the whole range of the animal kingdom in a variety of small and also some large-scale projects.

Furthermore, our lab is closely connected to the DNA Storage storage facility of the ZSM where DNA samples as well as tissue vouchers are stored long-term at -80°C (DNA) and -25°C (tissue).

If you have any questions concerning the molecular lab of the ZSM please contact

Dr. Ulrich Schliewen (Tel: 089-8107-110, Email: schliewen@snsb.de) or

Dipl.-Biol. Isabella Stöger (phone: 089-8107-124, email: Isabella.Stoeger@snsb.de )

Molekularlabor

Molekularlabor

Im DNA-Molekularlabor der ZSM werden verschiedenste Methoden der DNA-Extraktion, sowie etliche Folgeanwendungen (PCR, long-range PCR, real-time PCR, Sanger Sequenzierung, Erstellung von NGS Bibliotheken, ddRAD, target gene capturing) durchgeführt. Mit den gewonnenen Daten wird eine Vielzahl von phylogenetischen und populationsgenetischen Fragestellungen bearbeitet. Das Labor ist mit allen erforderlichen Geräten ausgestattet, um Einzelproben zu bearbeiten sowie im Plattenformat die Proben im Hochdurchsatz zu prozessieren.

Ein ABI 3012 Sequenzierer wird hauptsächlich  für Fragmentanalysen genutzt. Die Sequenzierung von high throughput Projekten und jegliches Next Generation Sequencing wird am Sequenzierzentrum der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität durchgeführt. Der Sequenzierservice der LMU verfügt über einen ABI 3730 Kapillarsequenzierer und einen Illumina MiSeq.

Unsere Labornutzer sind PostDocs, Doktoranden, Bachelor- und Masterstudent/Innen sowie Praktikant/Innen, die im Rahmen von Großprojekten arbeiten oder auch zoologisch-systematische Fragestellungen an verschiedensten Tierarten bearbeiten.

Außerdem ist unser Molekularlabor sehr eng mit der Einrichtung “DNA-Storage” der ZSM verknüpft. Hier werden sowohl DNA-Proben bei -80°C, als auch Gewebeproben bei -25°C dauerhaft eingelagert.

Bei Fragen zum Molekularlabor der ZSM wenden Sie sich bitte an

Dr. Ulrich Schliewen (Tel: 089-8107-110, Email: schliewen@zsm.mwn.de) oder

Dipl.-Biol. Isabella Stöger (Tel: 089-8107-124, Email: Isabella.Stoeger@zsm.mwn.de )